|PPC & Advertising Information|
How Much Should You Pay for a Click
You have a web site ready for action. Your product catalog, order tracking, credit card payment system, and fulfillment process are all in place. Now all you need is traffic! Many web entrepreneurs have learned that the magic nut to crack is attraction: get a steady flow of customers who explore your site and eventually purchase goods. The overhead costs of most web businesses are minimal relative to brick and mortar stores. However, the variable marketing costs can over shadow sales revenues by orders of magnitudes. Unfortunately, unlike the saying in the movie Field of Dreams, "If you build it, they will not come!" Luckily, the industry has learned this lesson; some the hard way, and others in spite of the losers. Dot-coms are clearly not the darlings of the capital markets any longer; however, there is still money to be made! If you plan to start a web business or already have one but are not sure how to increase traffic and make money at the same time, you should consider a science-driven approach. What does that mean? Read on?
How to Lose $500 in 12 Hours
One weekend, my business partner and I created an affiliate commerce site. The site comprised a list of links to other online retailers. People go to our site, pick a link to a jewelry store for example, buy something, and in turn we receive a commission from the sale. The process of creating the site, signing up the affiliate agreements, and turning it on was a cinch. The cost was virtually nothing. We, being new to this whole web business concept, thought we had an incredibly smart marketing idea: pay to have our site come up in an ad box on a major search engine (Google) every time someone searched on the word "gifts". The word gifts is searched for 49,000 times per day! We figured we would have a good flow of visitors and the money would start rolling in. For certain, we would at least break even. We sunk $500 in one day and let it rip. Here's what happened:
Our investment in Google - $ 500
The whole process took less than 12 hours. At least we learned a lesson quickly at a relatively low cost. Let's look at this event from a slightly different perspective, putting the costs in terms of number of visitors:
Our investment in Google - $ 500
We were basically giving $1 away for each visitor that came to the site. Not a winning business model. However, taking this information, we can assess which marketing techniques can work best for the business. Let's add 2 additional critical data points to our table:
Our investment in Google - $ 500
Running the Numbers
Putting this all together, you can create a formula for estimating the gross margin per visitor for a specific marketing campaign:
Average Gross Margin per Visitor = Average revenue per visitor - Advertising Cost per Visitor
Advertising Cost per Visitor = Campaign Costs /(Impressions x Click-through rate)
Average revenue per visitor = Conversion rate x Average sale per purchase
Putting it together:
Average Gross Margin per Visitor = (Conversion rate x Average sale per purchase) - (Campaign Costs / Impressions x Click-through rate)
Using our Google example, the average gross margin per visitor would be calculated as:
Average Gross Margin per Visitor = (0.023 x $ 7.7) - $500 / (36,964 x 016) = (0.99)
Remember, this formula can only be used for a single type of campaign. Depending upon your target audience and the type of campaign, all of the above variables can change. When we launched our Google campaign, we used impression-based advertising, that is, we paid Google a certain amount of money for every 1,000 impressions of our ad (about $15 per 1,000 impressions in our example). However, just because our ad was displayed inside someone's browser did not mean they would click on the ad itself.
Enter pay-per-click advertising. This advertising model allows you to pay for an ad only when a person actually clicks on it. In this model, you are guaranteed to get visitors. However, the cost per click is usually much higher. Let us assume we ran our same Google campaign except we used pay-per-click advertising. Pay-per-click also factors in position which will drive the amount you pay per click (the higher the ad position on the screen, the higher the price per click will be). Let's say we pay google $0.50 per click and based on Google's traffic for the word gifts, we receive 170 clicks per day (or visitors), or in total 1000 visitors over the life of the campaign (we still only put in $500, so $500/$0.50 = 1000). Using our same ratios, let us re-compute our Average Gross Margin per Visitor, modifying our formula slightly (notice the formula is simpler):
Average Gross Margin per Visitor = (Conversion rate x Average sale per purchase) - (Campaign Costs / Visitors)
Plugging in the numbers:
Average Gross Margin per Visitors = (.023 x $ 7.7) - ($500 / 1000) = (0.32)
If we used a pay-per-click advertising model, we could have saved $100. Either way, we would have lost money, but imagine if we had started with $5,000 instead of $500. The nice feature of pay-per-click is that you know ahead of time how many visitors you will receive. If you know your conversion rate and your average sale, you can modify the formula to determine the most you should pay for a pay-per-click campaign:
Max Pay-per-click = (Conversion rate x Average Sale per purchase)
In our Google example, our maximum pay-per-click should be $0.18. For every penny we pay less than our maximum pay-per-click, we're making money! Unfortunately, as of this writing, the minimum pay-per-click cost for the word "gifts" on Google is $0.37. The ultimate lesson is that for this particular site, the Google marketing campaign will not generate sales revenues. But is that really true? We could increase our conversion rate and our average sale per purchase. We could increase our conversion rate by optimizing the design of the web pages. We could increase our average sale per purchase by entering affiliate agreements that offer higher commissions. Let's say we used the $0.37 pay-per- click model on Google for our gift site. In order to make money we would have to get our average revenue per visitor to at least $0.38. If we just focused on our conversion rate, we would need to increase the percentage of visitors who make a purchase to 4.9%. If we left conversion rate alone, we would need to increase the average sale per purchase to $16.50. Alternatively, we could try and increase them both.
Not All Ad Models Are Created Equal
Using the same model, let's look at a different type of campaign: newsletter advertising. This form of advertising involves placing an ad embedded in a newsletter that is distributed to a subscriber base via email. The model for calculating average gross margin per visitor is exactly the same as impression based, except your target market is different. For example, let us say we spend $1,000 to place an ad in an email newsletter about shopping tips. And let's say the newsletter reaches 500,000 subscribers. If we used the same click-through rates and conversion rates, our average gross margin per visitor would be:
Average Gross Margin per Visitor = (.023 x $ 7.7) - $1000 / (500,000 x 0116) = $0.004
We're making money!! (not much, but the margin is positive). Translation: this campaign brings us under a half a penny per visitor. Another helpful ratio is to calculate the return on your advertising dollar:
Return of Advertising = [(Impressions x Click-through rate x Conversion rate x Average sale per purchase) - Campaign Cost] / Campaign Cost
Or in our case:
Return of Advertising = [(500,000 x .0116 x .023 x $ 7.7) - $1000] / $1000 = 2.7%. Translation: you're making 2.7 cents in gross revenue for every dollar of advertising you spend. Also keep in my mind that this newsletter reaches a different target audience. While people on Google may casually look for gifts, the recipients of a shopping newsletter may have a higher tendency to buy (i.e. your conversion rate may be higher). If your conversion rate were higher, let's say 3%, your new average gross margin per visitor becomes $0.05!! or a 34% return on our dollar.
The Bottom Line
Using formulas to compute the success of marketing plans is extremely helpful and reduces the risk of throwing away precious advertising dollars. However, understand that each marketing campaign will differ based on cost per click, conversion rates, target audience, and average sales per purchase. I encourage you to track all the data available about your marketing campaigns so you can realize profits instead of losses.
Marketing on the web can be difficult. Predicting the behavior of surfers is an art unto itself. Before you begin spending a lot of money on advertising, experiment with different types of campaigns, track all of the results, and make future marketing decisions based on real customer behavior. Also keep in mind that there are other, free forms of advertising. Writing articles, participating in newsgroups, print advertising, and email marketing are other examples. Remember that all of these marketing techniques will have different click-through rates, conversion rates, and revenues per visitor.
About The Author
Andy Quick is co-founder of Findmyhosting.com (http://www.findmyhosting.com), a free web hosting directory offering businesses and consumers a hassle free way to find the right hosting plan for their needs. Feel free to contact Andy at email@example.com in case you have any questions or comments regarding this article.
This RSS feed URL is deprecated, please update. New URLs can be found in the footers at https://news.google.com/news
Financial Services Brands Can Win in Google Searches by Targeting “Direct Answers” - EContent (press release)
3 Strategies to Profit When Click Prices Increase (Part 2 of 3 Series)
What are Website Conversion Strategies?Website conversion strategies are marketing and technology efforts focused on increasing your website's efficiency with turning visitors into prospects or customers. The majority of website conversion strategies involve redesigning your current website and re-writing your website's copy.
PPC Search Engines Revealed - 5 Things You Need to Know
The pay per click (PPC) search engines have created a new way for websites to advertise and increase traffic to their sites and it is very affordable. There are a variety of things about PPC search engines you should know so read the following suggestions and educate yourself on PPC advertising.
Keyword Prices Decline 3.0% in the First Quarter of 2005
An analysis of web's most popular 20,000 keywords by TopPayingKeywords.com, found that keyword prices dropped 3.
How to Use Pay Per Click Marketing, the Emoneyreport Way!
The cycle of affiliate programs and money making ventures goes something like this:John Doe makes niched website.John Doe inserts affiliate links.
PPC Advertising Explained
Advertising on the Internet has always been a bit of a minefield for people being new to online advertising. Banner advertising, text link advertising, CPM, CPA, PPC, email advertising, SPAM - finding the way through this minefield can be very confusing and expensive if the advertiser does not what he is doing.
Paid Search Advertising that Delivers Maximum ROI
Paid Search Advertising (also Pay-Per-Click, PPC) has gained a significant influence in the search engine industry over past couple of years. Whilst a traditional search engine optimisation still remains the online marketing strategy number one, more and more e-marketers discovering the potential of online advertising campaigns.
Google Adwords - Online Riches Without Owning A Website Or Product!
Did you know that you can make money from Google Adwords without having a product to sell, or even a website?It's true and there are many people all around the world quietly making lots of money doing it.So how do you do it?Quite simple really, you become an affiliate.
Google for Resellers: Leveling the Resell Playing Field
With so many people trying to make money on the web and so many products being sold with resell and master resell rights, it's a wonder anyone can make any money at all at it!Indeed, most people don't.Why?Sometimes it's because people get in on the tail end of the product being sold and start trying to resell it just as the original creator decides to start giving it away for free.
Pay-Per-Click Marketing & Natural Search Engine Traffic
PPC advertising has many great benefits. First of all, you get your traffic going quickly.
What is Google AdSense?
In the mid 1990's websites used to earn income by receiving money from advertisers by publishing or allowing companies to deploy a banner ad campaign on your website. Usually these banners would be brilliantly designed to catch the eye of the consumer along with a short message.
Top Paying Keywords: How to Increase Your Pay Per Click Returns
There is no doubting the success of Google's Adsense program. Even Yahoo! and Kanoodle have joined in on the game, offering to join publishers with advertisers.
AdWords Ads: To Syndicate or Not to Syndicate
When running ads on the AdWords network, one of the first decisions you will need to make is on which network or networks your ads will run. You can run your ads on either the Google "search network" (Google, Earthlink, AOL, AskJeeves, etc), the Google "content network" (About.
Relevant Ads Increase Adsense Profits
If you've started using Adsense as a way to increase advertising income, but the numbers just aren't adding up to what you expected, the problem might be with the ads themselves. If the ads being generated by Google's Adsense aren't relevant to your website, visitors won't click on them.
The AdSense Formula for Making Money
I often get asked what the secret is to making money with Google's AdSense program. This often comes from people who are dreaming of setting up websites chock full of high-paying keywords for particular niche subjects and then sitting back and watching the money roll in.
3 Adsense Tips To Dramatically Increase CTR
Here are three Adsense Tips, together with the required HTML code, to dramatically increase CTRs and Google Adsense revenue.1.
7 Secrets for Pay-Per-Click Success
"Pay-for-Performance" or "Pay-per-Click" Internet advertising is making big waves lately, and the two biggest players are Google and Overture, which was recently purchased by Yahoo. Microsoft has since joined the fray with MSN Search and there are numerous other fish (albeit tadpoles) in the pond.
How to Skyrocket Your Paid Search Profits
Faced with a mediocre or worse performing paid search campaign and the pressure to allocate resources elsewhere, many businesses choose to drop their paid search or scale back their budgets - leaving ripe buyers waiting to be harvested by their competitors.If you face paid search challenges, before you decide to drop or scale it back, try these proven strategies to skyrocket your profits.
Two Imperative Keys For Profitable Pay Per Click Marketing
Pay per click marketing is one of the simplest and fastest ways of sending targeted traffic to any website. Whether you are trying to send visitors to your own website, sell a product online, or build an opt in email list, pay per click marketing has been a guaranteed way to see instant traffic results.
Discover the Art of the Pay-per-Click Start (Round 1 of 2)
Setting up a pay-per-click campaign is simple, right? Practically all paid search engines especially the top-tiered ones like Google Adwords and Overture provide extensive training materials. It is advertised that in less than three hours, you can select your keywords, write your ads and have a campaign either submitted for an editorial review at Overture or active on Google.
What The Adsense Top Earners Are Doing To Constantly Increase Their Earnings
It is really frustrating, is it not, to log into your Google Adsense earnings and find that you've had yet another disappointing day. Another day of making nothing or just a fraction of a penny.
|home | site map|